WASHINGTON (NEWSnet/AP) — A sequel to the 2020 election is officially set, as Joe Biden and Donald Trump have secured party nominations.

A presidential election rematch hasn’t occurred since 1956, when Republican President Dwight D. Eisenhower defeated Democrat Adlai Stevenson for the second time.

Other examples of presidential race rematches occurred far earlier in U.S. history.

Republican President William McKinley topped Democrat William Jennings Bryan in the election of 1896 and again in 1900. In 1836, Democrat Martin Van Buren defeated William Henry Harrison of the Whig Party. Harrison won a rematch to take the presidency four years later.

John Quincy Adams and Andrew Jackson battled twice for the presidency. The first time was in 1824, when Adams prevailed, and the second was in 1828, when Jackson became president.

John Adams, a Federalist who was the nation's second president, and Thomas Jefferson, its third and a Democratic-Republican, vied for the position during the first contested presidential election after George Washington's term in 1796. Adams won, and Jefferson was elected vice president. Four years later, Jefferson topped incumbent Adams.

Grover Cleveland is the lone president in U.S. history to serve two non-consecutive terms. He successfully did what Trump is attempting: win back the White House from the opponent who took it from him.

Cleveland narrowly won the presidential election of 1884. Four years later, he won the popular vote, but was defeated in the electoral college by Benjamin Harrison. Cleveland again challenged Harrison in 1892, and easily won a second term.

Other former presidents have tried to reassume their former post.

After serving two terms until 1877, Ulysses S. Grant sought the Republican nomination again during the 1880 election, but lost  to James A. Garfield after a convention challenge. A third term would have been allowed at the time: The 22nd Amendment, which limits presidents to two terms in office, was ratified in 1951.

Follow NEWSnet on Facebook and X platform to get our headlines in your social feeds.

Copyright 2024 NEWSnet and The Associated Press. All rights reserved.