NEW DELHI (NEWSnet/AP) — Swear-in was held Sunday for Narendra Modi, beginning a rare third consecutive term as India’s prime minister.

Modi and his Cabinet ministers took the oath of office, administered by President Droupadi Murmu, at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

Modi, 73, is only the second prime minister to retrain power for a third five-year term. Jawaharlal Nehru is the other.

Modi’s Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party failed to secure a majority to govern on its own. However, Modi's National Democratic Alliance coalition won enough seats to form a government, with him at the helm.

Final election results showed Modi’s BJP won 240 seats, well below the 272 needed for majority. Together, the parties in the NDA coalition secured 293 seats in the 543-member lower house of Parliament.

Modi’s coalition government largely depends on two regional allies: Telugu Desam Party in southern Andhra Pradesh state; and Janata Dal (United) in Bihar state.

Follow NEWSnet on Facebook and X platform to get our headlines in your social feeds.

Copyright 2024 NEWSnet and The Associated Press. All rights reserved.